Sat, 06 Jun 2020

England have stuck with the players who claimed an historic Test whitewash in Sri Lanka last month in naming their squad for the Caribbean. Ollie Pope, who left Sri Lanka to join up with the Lions in the UAE, misses out and there was no room for Jason Roy, despite speculation he could be included as a spare top-order batsman.

Ben Foakes, who was not part of the original party for Sri Lanka but claimed the Man of the Series award after making his debut as wicketkeeper after an injury to Jonny Bairstow, is the only official addition to the 16-man group.

In the ODI squad, David Willey returns following injury and Joe Denly is included, having been called up as an injury replacement for Liam Dawson (Denly subsequently won the Man of the Match award in the only T20I against Sri Lanka). Dawson, Sam Curran and Olly Stone, who provided cover for Liam Plunkett in Sri Lanka, are the players to drop out.

More to follow...

England Test squad: Joe Root (capt), Moeen Ali, Jimmy Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Joe Denly, Ben Foakes, Keaton Jennings, Jack Leach, Adil Rashid, Ben Stokes, Olly Stone, Chris Woakes

England ODI squad: Eoin Morgan (capt), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Sign up for Trinidad News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!